Call for submissions: RAIC 2020 Awards

OTTAWA, November 5, 2019 — The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) invites submissions for the Emerging Architectural Practice Award, the Architectural Firm Award, the Prix du XXe Siècle, and the Emerging Architect Award.

The RAIC is also calling for nominations for the 2020 recipient of its highest honour, the Gold Medal.

The deadline for submissions is 12 a.m. EST, Friday, January 24, 2020. Applying is quick and easy with the RAIC’s NEW online RAIC awards platform.

Winners of these prestigious annual awards receive an exceptional opportunity to:

  • celebrate achievement with their team and clients
  • reach new markets
  • attract new business and talent
  • gain exposure across Canada and internationally

Entrants are solely responsible for timely submissions. This date and time are firm without exceptions.

Architectural Firm Award

This award recognizes an architectural firm or practice that has consistently produced distinguished architecture. The award recognizes the achievements of the firm for its quality of architecture, its service to its clients, its innovations in practice, contributions to architectural education and to professional institutions and associations and public recognition.

Emerging Architectural Practice Award

This award recognizes an emerging architectural practice that has consistently produced distinguished architecture. The award recognizes the achievements of the practice for the quality of their built work, service to their clients, innovations in practice and public recognition.

Emerging Architect Award

This award is to recognize an emerging architect for excellence in design, leadership or service to the profession. It is intended that this award will inspire other individuals to become licensed and to strive for excellence in their work. The award was previously called the Young Architect Award.

The Prix du XXe Siècle

Presented by the RAIC and the National Trust for Canada, this award recognizes buildings over 25 years old that have become landmarks of Canadian architecture. The prize celebrates design quality as well as enduring excellence, recognizing the design of the original architect or  firm as well as the on-going stewardship of the owner of the building. The National Trust for Canada is Canada’s national charitable not-for-profit organization that works to save and renew Canada’s historic places.

RAIC Gold Medal

 The Gold Medal recognizes a significant body of work deemed to be a major contribution to Canadian architecture and having lasting influence on the theory or practice of architecture, either through demonstrated excellence in design, research, or education.

Past winners include Gilles Saucier and André Perrotte Roger du Toit, Brian MacKay-Lyons, Frank Gehry, Arthur Erickson, Dan Hanganu, Bing Thom, Phyllis Lambert, George Baird, and others.


The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is the leading voice for excellence in the built environment in Canada. Representing more than 5,000 members, the RAIC advocates for excellence, works to demonstrate how design enhances the quality of life and promotes responsible architecture in addressing important issues of society.


International Newswire Partner