Governor General's Medals in Architecture | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

Governor General's Medals in Architecture

The RAIC, in partnership with the Canada Council of the Arts, is proud to present the Governor General's Medals in Architecture. 

The objective of the Governor General’s Medals in Architecture is to recognize and celebrate outstanding design in recently completed built projects by Canadian architects. The competition continues a tradition initiated by the Massey Medals in 1950, providing an important source of understanding of the nature of Canadian architecture and the regional, cultural and historic forces expressed in the built environment.

The Governor General's Medals in Architecture are offered every two years (even years). 


The next call for submissions will take place in the Fall of 2023.

Mark your calendars and check back closer to the date for more information. 

2022 Governor General's Medals public lecture - January 23, 2023

2022 Recipients

Call for submissions - CLOSED

Past Recipients

Terms of Reference 

Purchase your copy today!

Architecture Canada 2020 Booklet


Past recipients photos, from left to right: Siamak Hariri, FRAIC, Partner-In-Charge, Chevalier Morales in consortium with DMA architectes, gh3 architecture, Manon Asselin, MRAIC and Nicolas Ranger, MIRAC, Brigitte Shim, FRAIC and Howard Sutcliffe, FRAIC, John Patkau, FRAIC, Patricia Patkau, FRAIC, Peter Suter with Michael Green, FRAIC, Marc Holland, Jacqueline Ho, Thomas Schroeder