Board of Directors | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is made up of volunteer elected representatives from each region of the country and an Executive Committee. Members are encouraged to contact their regional representatives to become more involved in regional activities of the RAIC.

Executive Committee




Term as President ends June 30, 2024
Jason Robbins is a Lead Architect at AECOM Canada where he specializes in National Defence and Public Safety projects. He is interested in the stories a building’s details tell us - about the architect who designed them, and its place in the community. He believes architecture is an active presence in our daily lives...>> Bio
Jonathan Bisson  
President Elect
Term as President Elect ends June 30, 2024
After graduating from Université Laval's School of Architecture, Jonathan Bisson founded BISSON | Associés - now CIRCUM.ARCHITECTURE - in 1997. For over 26 years, the firm has built a solid reputation for maintaining its traditional practice and for the quality of its projects in which Jonathan is involved in the planning, design, and organization phases...>>Bio
Term as Treasurer ends June 30, 2024 
Johanna Hurme is an architect and a co-founder of Winnipeg-based 5468796 Architecture. In the past twelve years, the firm has received numerous awards and recognition regionally, nationally and internationally and its work published in over 200 books and publications...>> Bio
Immediate Past President
Term as Immediate President ends June 30, 2024
John Brown is a registered architect in Alberta. He is the founding Principal of Housebrand, an integrated practice that incorporates architecture, construction, real estate brokerage, and interior design into a one-stop-shop for people looking for a reasonably priced, well designed, and sustainable place to live...>>Bio

Regional Directors


British Columbia / Yukon
Term as Regional Director ends June 30, 2025

sim’oogit saa-bax     dr patrick reid stewart is a hereditary chief of wilp daxaan     nisga’a village of  gingolx          he is principal of patrick r stewart architect and adjunct professor at mcewen school of architecture          board member for bc/yukon of the raic and     co-chair of the raic governance committee     >>Bio


Alberta / Northwest Territories
Cynthia Dovell, FRAIC 
Term as Regional Director ends June 30, 2024
Cynthia is the founder of AVID Architecture. She obtained her Master of Architecture from the University of Toronto and is a registered Architect in Alberta. She is honored to have served as Chair of the Alberta Chapter of the RAIC, and has had the pleasure of cocreating and teaching design studio courses at Athabasca University RAIC Centre for Architecture...>> Bio
Paul Blaser, MRAIC 
Term as Regional Director ends June 30, 2024

Born and bred on the Prairies, Paul returned to his Saskatchewan home in 2005 after 10 years of education and work across Canada and in Europe. In 2006 he took over as the managing partner of RBM Architecture.  Over the last 15 years the firm has grown from a small two-person operation into one of Saskatchewan's renowned medium sized firms with experience in Healthcare, Education, Policing, Commercial, Institutional, and Multi-Family Residential...>> Bio


Reanna Merasty, MRAIC
Term as Regional Director ends June 30, 2026


Reanna Merasty is an architectural intern at Number Ten Architectural Group based on Treaty 1 Territory. She is a Nîhithaw (Woodlands Cree) artist, writer, and educator from Barren Lands First Nation. Reanna received a Master of Architecture and a Bachelor of Environmental Design from the University of Manitoba (UofM)...>> Bio


Ontario Southwest
Drew Hauser, FRAIC
Term as Regional Director ends June 30, 2026

Before moving to Hamilton in 2007, Drew Hauser worked at design firms in Toronto and Austria, joining mcCallumSather in 2011. He has been instrumental in advancing and raising the profile of architecture, sustainability and heritage design to the broader public...>> Bio



Deirdre Ellis


Deirdre Ellis, MRAIC
Terms as Regional Director ends June 30, 2024


Deirdre Ellis holds a Bachelor of Architecture from Carleton University and a Masters of Applied Sciences (Planning) from the Université de Montréal and is  both a LEED AP BD+C and a WELL AP... >>Bio

Paul Frank, PP/FRAIC 
Term as Regional Director ends June 30, 2024

Paul graduated from the Technical University of Nova Scotia (Dalhousie University) with a Bachelor of Architecture Degree in 1983. He began working in private practice and was registered in the Nova Scotia Association of Architects in 1985. Throughout the next 30 years, he continued in private practice.  >> Bio




Director Representing Interns
Jonathan Monfries, MRAIC
Term as Representative of the Interns and Intern Architects ends June 30, 2024
Jonathan Monfries is an Intern Architect at Stantec and has a multidisciplinary academic and professional background in both architecture and urban design. His design leadership and passion for social change in our cities has benefited numerous city-building projects at all scales - from public art installations to district planning across Alberta and BC... >> Bio





Director Representing the College of Fellows
Term as Representative of the College of Fellows ends June 30, 2026
Gerrie offers over 14 years of volunteering experience with both the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and the Ontario Association of Architects (OAA)... >> Bio



David Fortin

Director Representing the Canadian Council of University Schools of Architecture
David Fortin, MRAIC
Concurrent with Term as CCUSA Representative
Born and raised throughout Alberta and Saskatchewan, David is a Member of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (MRAIC), a LEED accredited professional, and a registered architect in the provinces of Ontario, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Manitoba... >>Bio