Gold Medal — Call for Submissions | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

Gold Medal — Call for Submissions

Deadline for nominations: January 22, 2021

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada’s Gold Medal is the highest honour that the Institute can bestow in recognition of a significant and lasting contribution to Canadian architecture and is not to be construed as a competition. The terms of reference set forth here outline the process of selection to be used to identify the recipient of this honour.

>  Purpose

>  Call for Nominations

>  Announcement

>  Eligibility

>  Professional Advisor

>  Acceptance

>  Criteria

>  Jury

1. Purpose of the Honour

In recognition of a significant body of work deemed to be a major contribution to Canadian architecture, and having lasting influence on the theory and/or the practice of architecture, either – through demonstrated excellence in design; and/or, excellence in research or education.

2. Eligibility

Any individual may be nominated to receive the Gold Medal. In exceptional circumstances, the Gold Medal may be awarded to more than one individual architect where it is clearly demonstrated that the nominees have individually and collectively met the selection criteria.

No more than one such award shall be made in any year.

3. Criteria

Candidates will be evaluated on how well they meet the program criteria as established by the Board, which may include:

  • The candidate shall have demonstrated great depth, having a cumulative effect on the profession of architecture in Canada.
  • The candidate shall have demonstrated great breadth, having influenced the practice of architecture, the teaching of architecture, and/or research in architecture.
  • The candidate shall have demonstrated the ability to transcend specific areas of expertise or shall have made connections between areas of focus that might be considered circumscribed.
  • The candidate shall be widely known by the quality of his or her work: by those who practice architecture, by those who teach architecture, and by those who perhaps do neither.

4. Call for Nominations

  • Nominations can be made by one or more members of the RAIC.
  • Nominations received will be considered each year for five consecutive years, after which the nomination will lapse.
    • The nominator(s) may modify/revise the submission to bring it up to date.
    • Previous nominees may be re-nominated.

Submission Requirements

Submissions will be completed using the NEW online submission platform.

Submissions must be received before 11:59 p.m. EST, Friday, January 22, 2021. Entrants are solely responsible for timely submissions. This date and time are firm without exceptions.

Each submission shall not exceed 20 pages and shall include the following:

  • Completed nomination form;
  • A brief biography of the nominee (max. 2 pages);
  • A statement of the nominee’s achievements;
  • Supporting material, which can include images and background information such as significant projects, awards, media clippings, publications, copies of articles from journals, etc;
  • Letters of support and testimonials (max. 5 pages);
  • Key List of Images.

Entries can be submitted either in English or in French.

It is understood that the material provided within the submission will be utilized by the RAIC for publication and promotional purposes. 

All winning entries will be retained by the RAIC for publication, exhibition and archival purposes. Unsuccessful entries will not be returned.

Note: Once you have started the online submission process, you may 'save' and come back at a later date to complete your submission (prior to the submission deadline).

5. Professional Advisor

The RAIC will engage a Professional Advisor to administer the selection process. The Professional Advisor will be responsible to:

  • Answer any and all questions with respect to the submissions with the assistance of the RAIC Executive Director / Awards Staff.
  • Review of the submissions to ensure compliance with the requirements and eligibility.
  • Confirm list of eligible entries.
  • Review and advise on instructions document for adjudication (“charge to the jury”) to be sent to Jury members prior to evaluation event.
  • Call to order of the Jury (preliminary teleconferences). Review process and answer any questions.
  • Ensure commitment to ensure forms are signed by Jury members.
  • Advise the Jury on matters related to the selection process during the assessment.
  • Manage the Jury process and meeting.
  • Record comments from Jurors assessment of candidates for Award.
  • Solicit and record summary comments for successful award decision.
  • Advise the RAIC on the award, prepare summary notes including recommendations for changes to process for Board review.

6. Jury

National Committee of the College of Fellows shall appoint a Jury of five each year which will be Chaired by the Chancellor of the College (or his/her delegate), and may include Past Presidents, past Gold Medal recipients, distinguished scholars or educators, immediate past recipient of the Emerging Architect Award, a member of the public, and other distinguished members of the profession.  

Jury Information

  • The Professional Advisor and the RAIC office will prepare an information package for the Jury members.
  • The information will be sent in advance of the meeting.
  • Jury members will be required to sign an acknowledgement of the terms of reference.
  • Jury members will be required to sign an acknowledgement and acceptance of the Jury composition.

Jury Deliberations

  • After preliminary discussions of the Jury, there will be a formal face to face Jury meeting for selection of Medalist.
  • Confidentiality (process & results): Jury members will be required to sign confidentiality agreements.
  • Conflict of interest: Jury members will be required to sign a conflict of interest declaration.

Jury Decision

  • Ideally the honoree will be selected through consensus of the Jury.
  • In the absence of unanimity, the Jury shall establish a short list of no more than three candidates from amongst the nominees.
  • The following voting procedure will then come into effect:
    • 1st Ballot – vote for 1 - lowest number drops out
    • 2nd ballot – vote for 1 - majority wins

7. Recipient Announcement and Communications

The Jury shall make a recommendation for awarding the Gold Medal which will be referred to the RAIC Board Executive for endorsement. Prior to the Executive endorsing the recipient of the Gold Medal, the President shall confirm ‘in confidence’ that the nominee is willing to receive the honour.

The recipient of the Gold Medal shall be officially informed by letter co-signed by the President of the RAIC and the Chancellor of the College of Fellows.

There shall be an announcement of the Gold Medal winner to coincide with the publication and distribution of the issue of Canadian Architect, which features the Gold Medal, usually to coincide with the annual RAIC Festival.

8. Gold Medalist obligations upon acceptance

The recipient agrees to:

  • Supply illustrations and other graphic materials, and allow the publication of representative works, giving the RAIC full permission to reproduce such materials for publication and promotional purposes.
  • Deliver an address at the function for the presentation of the Gold Medal, which shall be a feature of the RAIC Festival of that year.

For more information

Tel: (613) 241-3600 x 2015

International Newswire Partner