Architectural Firm Award — Call for Submissions | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

Architectural Firm Award — Call for Submissions

Submission Deadline: January 22, 2021

Terms of Reference

>  Purpose

>  Number of Awards

>  Eligibility

>  Frequency

>  Submission

>  Public Presentation

>  Selection Process


1. Purpose

This award is to recognize an architectural firm or practice that has consistently produced distinguished architecture. The award recognizes the achievements of the firm for its quality of architecture, its service to its clients, its innovations in practice, contributions to architectural education and to professional institutions and associations and public recognition.

2. Eligibility

The following firm or practice will be eligible to submit materials for this award:

Architectural firms or architectural practices who are resident in Canada or who have their principal office located in Canada, and who possess the appropriate Certificate of Practice or authorization to practice as required by the provincial licensing authorities, and who have been together as an organization or as successor firm for at least ten years.

All un-awarded submissions will be carried-forward for consideration for a further period of three years with a subsequent fee per year.  The submitter(s) may modify/revise the submission to bring it up to date. 

3. Submission

Submissions will be completed using the NEW online submission platform.

Submissions must be received before 11:59 p.m. EST, Friday, January 22, 2021. Entrants are solely responsible for timely submissions. This date and time are firm without exceptions.

Entry Fee

RAIC Member fee: $415.00

GST included (MB, AB, SK, YK, NWT, BC, NU) -  $435.75
QST/GST included (QC) -  $477.15
HST included (ON) -  $468.95
HST included (NB, NF, NS, PEI) -  $477.25

Non-member fee: $500.00

GST included (MB, AB, SK, YK, NWT, BC, NU) -  $525.00
QST/GST included (QC) -  $574.88
HST included (ON) -  $565.00
HST included (NB, NF, NS, PEI) -  $575.00

I wish to join the RAIC.

Payment by credit card accompany each entry.


The following items must be completed or provided:

  1. Completed submission form;
  2. Submission entry fee;
  3. A report which summarizes the contributions of the firm to the field of architecture not to exceed five pages. The report should cover significant contributions related to the quality of architectural services, innovation, sustainability, education and community;
  • The Firm award MUST provide a full spectrum of representation of the firm’s work and not focus on just one sector of the work, or on one partner.
  • The Jury must be given a clear ability to discern the authenticity of the work as having been prepared by the submitter firm either in whole or in part. If in part or in collaboration with other firms or individuals, the roles and responsibilities of each collaborator must be clearly and fully described. Credit shall only be taken for the firm’s own work.
  • Authorship and project credits must be clearly listed for all joint venture projects when identifying the project;
  • The Jury must also be able to interpret the quality of the materials presented based on clarity of text, drawings and photographs with suitable references, notes or other forms of identification as required. Lack of clarity diminishes the Jury’s ability to fairly compare and evaluate nominees.
  1. The firm must provide a minimum of five testimonials from their clients;
  2. A list of architectural projects of the firm up to a maximum of 20 years;
  3. Background information which might include awards, media clippings, publications; copies of articles from journals, etc.;
  1. A maximum of 30 curated project images, including a description of each, of the firm’s work which include projects constructed over at least a ten-year period. The submission shall consist of images and samples of architectural documentation supporting the criteria listed below. Renderings must be clearly identified.
  2. A numerical index listing all images and providing full credit information;
  3. A signed declaration form.

Entries can be submitted either in English or in French.

All winning entries will be retained by the RAIC for publication, exhibition and archival purposes. Unsuccessful entries will not be returned.

Note: Once you have started the online submission process, you may 'save' and come back at a later date to complete your submission (prior to the submission deadline).

4. Selection Process

The Jury appointed by the COF National Committee to select the RAIC Gold Medalist shall also decide on the winning Architectural Firm Award. The President of the RAIC shall bestow the award.

The following criteria shall be used in the selection:

4.1 Quality of Built Work

Quality shall be assessed by awards and publications. National awards and publications shall be given greater weight than local awards and publications. Only the work of current principals shall be judged.

4.2 Quality of Professional Services

4.3 Innovation in Practice

4.4 Contribution to Architectural Education

4.5 Service to the Profession

4.6 Evidence of Sustainable Design Principles

4.7 Firms who demonstrate a commitment to our future architects. i.e. Mentoring, Supervising, Training Opportunities and Providing a Path to Licensure.

5. Number of Awards

One award will be conferred. At its discretion the Jury may elect not to confer an award.  The award shall be a medal, cast with the RAIC emblem and inscribed on the reverse:

Award of Excellence – Architectural Firm


6. Frequency

The award is to be offered every year.

7. Public Presentation

The presentation of the Architectural Firm will be made at the RAIC Conference on Architecture or other suitable event.

For more information

Tel: (613) 241-3600 x 2015

International Newswire Partner