RAIC Gold Medal | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

RAIC Gold Medal


The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada's Gold Medal is the highest honour that the Institute can bestow in recognition of a significant and lasting contribution to Canadian architecture. The honour recognizes a significant body of work demonstrated through either excellence in design, research; education, advocacy, public policy initiatives, or other activities with a direct impact on the advancement of architecture in Canada. It considers the individual’s breadth and scope of expertise; established presence within the public sphere, both in Canada and internationally; exemplary approaches to sustainability; support and advancement of equity, diversity and inclusion; and commitment to the future generation of architects.

Any individual is eligible to be nominated to receive the Gold Medal. While the Gold Medal is typically awarded to an architect or partnership of architects, non-architects with an exceptional impact on architecture are also eligible. The Gold Medal may be awarded to more than one individual (for instance, the partners of an architectural firm) where it is clearly demonstrated that the nominees have individually and collectively met the selection criteria.

A nomination can be made posthumously.

The Gold Medal is offered annually. 


The call for submissions is currently OPEN until December 15, 2022 at 11:59 p.m. ET January 12, 2023 at 10:00 p.m. ET. Check it out to learn more and apply!



2022 Recipient - Jerome Markson

Past Recipients 

Terms of Reference - Updated July 2022





Past recipients photos, from left to right: Brigitte Shim and Howard Sutcliffe, Blanche Lemco van Ginkel, FRAIC, Gilles Saucier and André Perrotte, Roger Terence du Toit, FRAIC, Brian MacKay-Lyons, FRAIC, Peter Busby, FRAIC