Call for submissions to the RAIC Annual Awards

OTTAWA October 1st, 2020–The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada invites submissions for its portfolio of annual awards for 2021. This year, the prospective awards include the Emerging Architect Award, the Emerging Architectural Practice Award, Architectural Firm Award, and the Prix du XXe siècle. Additionally, the RAIC Gold Medal—which is the highest honour the institute can bestow, is accepting submissions.

The deadline for submissions to the 2021 awards is before 11:59 p.m. EST, Friday, January 22, 2021. Applicants are able to submit their works for consideration towards any award through the RAIC Awards platform.

Entrants are solely responsible for timely submissions. The listed date and time are firm for applications without exceptions. A brief description of each award is as follows:

RAIC Gold Medal

The Gold Medal recognizes a significant body of work deemed to be a major contribution to Canadian architecture and having lasting influence on the theory and/or practice of architecture, either through demonstrated excellence in design, research, or education.

Past winners include Blanche Lemco van Ginkel, Gilles Saucier and André Perrotte, Roger du Toit, Brian MacKay-Lyons, Frank Gehry, Arthur Erickson, Dan Hanganu, Bing Thom, Phyllis Lambert, George Baird, and others.

Read the full submission guidelines

Architectural Firm Award

This award recognizes an architectural firm or practice that has consistently produced distinguished architecture. The award recognizes the achievements of the firm for its quality of architecture, its service to its clients, its innovations in practice, contributions to architectural education and to professional institutions and associations and public recognition.

Read the full submission guidelines

Emerging Architectural Practice Award

This award is to recognize an emerging architectural practice that has consistently produced distinguished architecture. The award recognizes the achievements of the practice for the quality of their built work, service to their clients, innovations in practice and public recognition.

Read the full submission guidelines

Emerging Architect Award

This award is to recognize an emerging architect for excellence in design, leadership and/or service to the profession. It is intended that this award will inspire other individuals to become licensed and to strive for excellence in their work.  

Read the full submission guidelines

The Prix du XXe Siècle

Presented by the RAIC and the National Trust for Canada, this award recognizes buildings “of the modern movement and recent heritage” that have become landmarks of Canadian architecture. The prize celebrates design quality as well as enduring excellence, recognizing the design of the original architect and/or firm as well as the on-going stewardship of the owner of the building. The National Trust for Canada is Canada’s national charitable not-for-profit organization that works to save and renew Canada’s historic places.

Read the full submission guidelines

About the RAIC

The Royal Architecture Institute of Canada (RAIC) is a not-for-profit, national organization that has represented architects and architecture for over 100 years, in existence since 1907. The RAIC is the leading voice for excellence in the built environment in Canada, demonstrating how design enhances the quality of life, while addressing important issues of society through responsible architecture. The RAIC’s mission is to promote excellence in the built environment and to advocate for responsible architecture. The organization national office is based in Ottawa with a growing federated chapter model. Current chapters and networks are based in British Columbia, Alberta and Nova Scotia.

Media Partner


About V2com

Get published in the world’s leading design publications! With 25 years of leadership in international architecture and design media relations, v2com newswire promotes your projects to the world’s largest specialized media network, getting you published in the most prestigious publications in 95 countries. As a key reference for thousands of journalists, magazines, websites and blogs all around the world, v2com provides the media a reliable source of high-quality information and material to create their articles. That makes v2com the essential tool to get an international media coverage, increase your visibility, and improve your reputation to your clients. Distributing on v2com means opening up to the world! Take advantage of efficient and affordable distribution services to promote your achievements to the media in words and pictures. v2com is your partner for media success!