Sept. 19 gala will reveal Moriyama RAIC International Prize winner | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

Sept. 19 gala will reveal Moriyama RAIC International Prize winner

OTTAWA, August 10, 2017 – The winner of the $100,000 Moriyama RAIC International Prize will be announced at a gala ceremony to honour the finalists from Denmark, Japan, Australia and Canada on Tuesday, September 19, in Toronto.

Tickets are available now at cost is $500 for two tickets or $2,000 for a table of eight and includes a cocktail reception, sit-down dinner and prize ceremony. Benefits of the gala will support the Moriyama RAIC International Prize, a unique prize that puts Canada on the world stage, and the Moriyama RAIC International Prize Scholarships. All arewelcome.

The gala is an exciting event celebrating the exceptional contribution architecture can make to a community. Architects and industry professionals from across the country and around the world will come together at the historic event space in downtown Toronto, The Carlu. This spectacular example of Art Moderne architecture is located at444 Yonge Street, 7th Floor.

Site visits by the jury to the four projects shortlisted for the 2017 Moriyama RAIC International Prize in Architecture have been carried out, and the jury has completed its deliberations.

Neither the public nor the winner will be notified of the results until the announcement at the awards ceremony.

The four finalists have been chosen based on how their projects embody the values of social justice, respect, and inclusiveness.  They are:

  • 8 House, Copenhagen, Denmark, Bjarke Ingels Group (BIG);
  • Fuji Kindergarten, Tokyo, Japan, Tezuka Architects;
  • Melbourne School of Design, University of Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia, John Wardle Architects and NADAAA;
  • The Village Architect, Shobac Campus, Upper Kingsburg, Nova Scotia, Canada, MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects.

In addition to the main CAD $100,000 prize, three scholarships of $5,000 each will be awarded to three students of Canadian schools of architecture on the basis of a written essay. They are:

  • Osman Bari, University of Waterloo;
  • Alykhan Neky, Ryerson University;
  • Tanya Southcott, McGill University.


 About the RAIC

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is the leading voice for excellence in the built environment in Canada. Representing about 5,000 members, the RAIC advocates for excellence, works to demonstrate how design enhances the quality of life and promotes responsible architecture in addressing important issues of society.


About the Moriyama RAIC International Prize

Raymond Moriyama, FRAIC, the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and the RAIC Foundation created the Moriyama RAIC International Prize in 2014 to raise the international stature of the RAIC and the Canadian architectural profession, and to encourage Canadian architects to aspire to international excellence.

The Moriyama RAIC International Prize is awarded every two years. It consists of a monetary award of CAD $100,000 and a handcrafted sculpture designed by Canadian designer Wei Yew.

The prize is awarded to an architect, team of architects, or architect-led collaboration, based anywhere in the world, in recognition of a single work of architecture that is judged to be transformative within its societal context and expressive of the humanistic values of justice, respect, equality and inclusiveness.

In the words of Ray Moriyama, the intent of the award program is to "awaken ideas and thoughts that will alter our collective aspiration for the future of humanity."