Governor General's Medals in Architecture — 2012 Recipients | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

Governor General's Medals in Architecture — 2012 Recipients

"The recipients of the Governor General’s Medals in Architecture have distinguished themselves as visionary Canadian architects. They have designed spaces where communities are forged, memories are enshrined and identity is created in built form. Few architects are able to realize their philosophies so fully in practice and in such diversity of project type and geography."

His Excellency the Right Honourable
David Johnston, C.C., C.M.M., C.O.M., C.D., Governor General of Canada

The Governor General’s Medals in Architecture recognize outstanding achievement in recently built projects by Canadian architects.

This program, created by the RAIC, contributes to the development of the discipline and practice of architecture, and increases public awareness of architecture as a vital cultural force in Canadian society. These awards are administered jointly with the Canada Council for the Arts, which is responsible for the adjudication process and contributes to the publication highlighting the medal winners.

Recipient(s) Lead design architect(s)

Johanna Hurme
Sasa Radulovic
Colin Neufeld
Ken Borton

Cliff House

Brian MacKay-Lyons, FRAIC

College of New Caledonia – Technical Trades Centre – Quesnel

Steve McFarlane, FRAIC

Delegation of the Ismaili Imamat: Architecture of Peace and Plurality

Ted Teshima, FRAIC,
Diarmuid Nash, FRAIC
Fumihiko Maki
Gary Kamemoto

The Integral House

Brigitte Shim, FRAIC
Howard Sutcliffe, FRAIC

Linear House

John Patkau, FRAIC

Mission Kitcisakik

Guillaume Lévesque, MRAIC

The Mississauga Public Library Project

Tyler Sharp, MRAIC

Newmarket Operations Centre

Geoff Miller

Quartier des spectacles | Place des festivals + vitrines habitées

Renée Daoust, FIRAC
Réal Lestage

Terrence Donnelly Health Sciences Complex

Alar Kongats, MRAIC

Vaughan City Hall

Bruce Kuwabara, FRAIC