Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is made up of volunteer elected representatives from each region of the country and an Executive Committee. Members are encouraged to contact their regional representatives to become more involved in regional activities of the RAIC.

Executive Committee




John Brown, FRAIC
Term as President ends June. 2022

John Brown is a registered architect in Alberta. He is the founding Principal of Housebrand, an integrated practice that incorporates architecture, construction, real estate brokerage, and interior design into a one-stop-shop for people looking for a reasonably priced, well designed, and sustainable place to live...>> Bio



Jason Robbins, MRAIC
Term as President-Elect ends June. 2022

Jason Robbins is Principal Architect at JC ROBBINS ARCHITECTURE, an advocate architecture practice with a specialty in preliminary project planning. He works with organizations to define their architectural requirements through design, collaboration, and communication...>> Bio

Regional Director - Quebec
Jonathan Bisson, MIRAC
Term as Treasurer ends June. 2022
Term as Regional Director ends June. 2021


Jonathan Bisson has worked in the architecture field since 1996 and, together with his partner, founded and has directed the bisson | associés since 1997. For the last 20 years, he has maintained a traditional practice and is involved in the planning, design and organization phases of award-winning projects... >> Bio


Immediate Past President
Michael Cox, PP/FRAIC
Term as Immediate Past President ends June. 2022

Michael Cox has been the principal of Michael J. Cox, Architect in Brandon, Manitoba since 1979. A literal one-person practice for this entire period, the firm has engaged in a wide variety of work, ranging from small-scale residential renovations to significant commercial projects...>> Bio

Regional Directors


British Columbia / Yukon
Term as Regional Director ends June. 2022

Sean Ruthen is a senior project architect at James KM Cheng Architects in Vancouver, BC. Originally from the Maritimes, Sean received his architecture degree at the University of British Columbia in 2001 and has called Metro Vancouver home for over two decades now...>>Bio



Alberta / Northwest Territories
Dale Taylor, FRAIC
Term as Regional Director ends June. 2021

A registered architect since 1972, Dale Taylor is a past president of the Alberta Association of Architects and the Committee of Canadian Architectural Councils. He was a senior designer with Stevenson Raines & Partners in Calgary before beginning a teaching career at the University of Calgary, where he served as head of the architecture and industrial design programs and remains an emeritus professor...>> Bio


Saskatchewan / Manitoba
Johanna Hurme, FRAIC
Term as Regional Director end June. 2024

Johanna Hurme is an architect and a co-founder of Winnipeg-based 5468796 Architecture. In the past twelve years, the firm has received numerous awards and recognition regionally, nationally and internationally and its work published in over 200 books and publications...>> Bio


Ontario Southwest
Drew Hauser, FRAIC
Term as Regional Director ends June. 2024

Before moving to Hamilton in 2007, Drew Hauser worked at design firms in Toronto and Austria, joining mcCallumSather in 2011. He has been instrumental in advancing and raising the profile of architecture, sustainability and heritage design to the broader public...>> Bio




Ontario North, East and Nunavut
Emmanuelle van Rutten, FRAIC
Term as Regional Director ends June. 2022

Emmanuelle van Rutten is a principal at Moriyama & Teshima Architects in Ottawa where she has worked on high-profile projects in the National Capital region, including the Canadian War Museum, the Delegation of the Ismaili Imamat, and the Visitor Welcome Centre Phase One on Parliament Hill in collaboration with IBI Group. Current projects include the rehabilitation of the West Memorial Building in the Parliamentary Precinct.... >> Bio




Gregory MacNeil, MRAIC
Term as Regional Director ends June. 2021

Gregory MacNeil is a licensed architect and member of the Nova Scotia Association of Architects. He oversees measured and image-based building documentation and visualization services at Jerry MacNeil Architects in Halifax... >> Bio




Director Representing Interns and Intern Architects
Andrew Dejneka, MRAIC
Term as Representative of the Interns and Intern Architects ends June. 2021

Andrew Dejneka is a graduate of the Master of Architecture program at the University of Calgary. After graduating Andrew joined an urban design and architecture firm in Shenzhen, China working on projects varying in scale from city master planning to traditional wood details... >> Bio





Director Representing the College of Fellows
Susan Ruptash, FRAIC
Term as Representative of the College of Fellows ends June 2023

Joining Quadrangle in 1988, Susan was appointed a principal in 1999 and served as Managing Principal from 2008 to 2017, where she was responsible for the overall management of the firm. Susan stepped back from full-time work in 2018 and continues to advise Quadrangle on strategic and business matters... >> Bio




Director Representing the Canadian Council of University Schools of Architecture
Jill Stoner, MRAIC
Concurrent with Term as CCUSA Representative

Jill Stoner has been a professor of architecture for 35 years. Since July 2015, she is director of the Azrieli School of Architecture and Urbanism at Carleton University in Ottawa... >> Bio