Architectural Practice Award — Call for Submissions | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

Architectural Practice Award — Call for Submissions

Submission Deadline: 

Terms of Reference

>  Purpose

>  Number of Awards

>  Eligibility

>  Frequency

>  Submission Requirements

>  Public Presentation

>  Selection Process


1. Purpose

This award is to recognize a Canadian architectural practice that has consistently produced distinguished architecture. The award recognizes the achievements of the practice, considering seven core areas: quality of architecture, quality of professional services, innovations in practice, contributions to the profession, exemplary approaches to environmental sustainability, support and advancement of social justice, and commitment to the future generation of architects.

2. Eligibility

To be eligible for this award, an architectural practice must have been established for ten (10) or more years and must have its principal office located in Canada.The award may be given to an individual or a group of individuals making up a practice.

3. Submission Requirements

Submissions will be completed using the online submission platform.

The following items must be completed or provided:

  1. Completed submission form;
  2. Submission entry fee;
  3. A report summarizing the contributions of the practice to the field of architecture, which clearly supports the practice’s contribution to each of the seven core topics identified above, not to exceed ten (10) pages.
  4. A minimum of five (5) testimonials from the practice’s clients;
  5. A list of the practice’s key architectural projects;
  6. A description of the practice’s leadership and team structure;
  7. Relevant background information such as awards, publications, etc.;
  8. A maximum of 30 representational images;
  9. A numerical index listing all images, providing descriptions and full credit information for each;
  10. A signed declaration form.

Please note the following requirements:

  • The submission must provide a full spectrum of representation of the practice’s work;
  • The Jury must be able to discern the authenticity of the work as having been prepared by the submitter practice either in whole or in part. If in part or in collaboration with other architectural practices, the roles and responsibilities of each collaborator must be clearly and fully described. Credit shall only be taken for the practice’s own work/contributions;
  • Portfolios of the practice should include only projects completed by the current practice, and not by predecessor or successor practices. When acquisitions have played a part in the composition of the practice in the past 10 years, this must be noted, and the projects completed by the acquired practices shall be identified.
  • Authorship and project credits must be clearly listed for all joint venture projects;
  • The Jury must be able to interpret the quality of the materials presented based on the clarity of text, drawings and photographs, with suitable references, notes or other forms of identification provided as required;
  • Renderings must be clearly identified.

Submissions must be received before 11:59 p.m. EST, Friday, January 14, 2022. Entrants are solely responsible for timely submissions. This date and time are firm without exceptions.

Entry Fee

RAIC Member fee: $415.00 plus applicable taxes. 
Non-member fee: $850.00 plus applicable taxes. 

I wish to join the RAIC.

Payment is processed through the online submission platform.

Entries can be submitted either in English or in French.

All entries will be retained by the RAIC for publication, exhibition and archival purposes. 

Note: Once you have started the online submission process, you may 'save' and come back at a later date to complete your submission (prior to the submission deadline).

4. Selection Process

The National Committee of the College of Fellows shall appoint a Jury each year.

The Jury will consider any, or all, of the following seven core areas:

  • Demonstrated quality of architecture, assessed by the review of submitted material, awards and publications;
  • Demonstrated quality of professional services to clients and to the end-users of buildings, assessed by the review of client testimonials;
  • Innovation in methods and processes related to design, construction and practice;
  • Contribution to architectural education, professional institutions and associations;
  • Evidence of exemplary approaches to sustainability and the achievement of exceptional environmental performance;
  • Demonstrated use of design to advance social justice, and/or to support a vision of reconciliation, equity, accessibility and inclusion;
  • Commitment to the future generation of architects and related professions through the support of mentorship, training opportunities and providing a path to licensure.

5. Number of Awards

One award will be conferred. At its discretion, the Jury may elect not to confer an award. 

6. Frequency

The award is to be offered every year.

7. Public Presentation

The Architectural Practice Award will be presented at a public event.


For more information

Tel: (613) 241-3600 x 2015