Architects from 13 Canadian cities named 2020 RAIC Fellows | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

Architects from 13 Canadian cities named 2020 RAIC Fellows

OTTAWA, April 1, 2020–The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) is honoured to announce the 31 individuals named to the RAIC College of Fellows for 2020. There are 13 cities and communities from across Canada represented in the cohort this year.

The College of Fellows of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) bestows Fellowship to RAIC members in recognition of outstanding achievement. Criteria include design excellence, exceptional scholarly contribution, or distinguished service to the profession or the community.

Representing Canada coast-to-coast, the 31 new Fellows come from Saint John, NB, Montreal, QC, Ottawa, ON, Toronto, ON. Brantford ON, Winnipeg, MB, Calgary AB, Edmonton AB, Vancouver, BC, Regina, SK, Saskatoon SK, Saanichton BC, and Charlottesville Virginia.

A complete list of new Fellows is below. Photos and citations are available by request.

2020 New Fellows


Monica Adair, Saint John



Anne Cormier, Montreal

Michel Lauzon, Montreal


Ontario North and East & Nunavut

Alex Leung, Ottawa

Heather Semple, Ottawa

David R. Mungall, Ottawa


Ontario Southwest

Ana-Francisca de la Mora, Toronto

Christine Leu, Toronto

Daniel McNeil, Toronto

D'Arcy Arthurs, Toronto

Edward Applebaum, Toronto

J. Ronald Mar, Toronto

Lynne Wilson Orr, Toronto

Mary Tremain, Toronto

Paul Sapounzi, Brantford

Bernard Jin, Toronto



Gail Little, Winnipeg



Coben Christiansen, Calgary

Cynthia Dovell, Edmonton

Jan Pierzchajlo, Edmonton

Patricia Swanson, Edmonton



James Carter-Huffman, Vancouver

Joyce Drohan, Vancouver

Melissa Higgs, Vancouver

Richard F. Evans, Vancouver

Tracey Mactavish, Vancouver

Brian Wakelin, Vancouver



James Jeffrey Youck, Regina

Maurice Soulodre, Saskatoon


Victoria Chapter

Arthur James Finlayson, Saanichton



Ila Berman, Charlottesville

The RAIC previously announced the Honorary Fellows for 2020 on February 7, 2020. The list of Honorary Fellows for this year include Kevin R. Hydes P. Eng, Lenore Lucey, FAIA, Mariam Kamara, and Mickey Jacob, FAIA.

Due to the current COVID-19 pandemic—which has led to the cancellation of the RAIC 2020 Conference on Architecture, and with it the College of Fellows Convocation—the new Fellows and Honorary Fellows will be honoured at the 2021 convocation. The ceremony will occur during the 2021 RAIC Conference in Montreal from June 6 to 9, 2021.

About the RAIC

The Royal Architecture Institute of Canada (RAIC) is a not-for-profit, national organization that has represented architects and architecture for over 100 years, in existence since 1907. The RAIC is the leading voice for excellence in the built environment in Canada, demonstrating how design enhances the quality of life, while addressing important issues of society through responsible architecture. The RAIC’s mission is to promote excellence in the built environment and to advocate for responsible architecture. The organization national office is based in Ottawa with a growing federated chapter model. Current chapters and networks are based in British Columbia, Alberta and Nova Scotia.