CIP, CSLA and RAIC Announce Winners of 2024 National Urban Design Awards | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

CIP, CSLA and RAIC Announce Winners of 2024 National Urban Design Awards


OTTAWA, April 16, 2024 – The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC), the Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP), and the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2024 National Urban Design Awards.  

The National Urban Design Awards are awarded every two years and recognize the important link between architects, planners, and landscape architects in achieving successful urban design. They strive to raise awareness of the crucial role that urban design plays in maintaining and improving the quality of life in Canadian cities and acknowledge the efforts of individuals, organizations, firms, and projects in this field. 

According to the jury, “The submissions were consistently very high quality, and focused on many of the topics we as designers are all focusing on in our ever-changing world – justice, equity, diversity and inclusion, on climate change, on resiliency and as always – on high quality design for the many end users we strive to serve. Projects were described in the submissions with high quality graphics, photos of built projects and evidence that these projects have made significant changes to the quality of life of Canadians across the country.” 

12 recipients have been selected from the six National Urban Design Award categories: 

To learn more about the award recipients, see pictures of their work and read jury comments, check out the recipient webpages linked above.  

  • Martin Brière, OAQ, MIRAC 
  • Audrey Farias, RPP, MCIP, PMP, MUDS, BARCH, LEED AP   

About the RAIC 

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) is a not-for-profit, national organization dedicated to representing architects and architecture since 1907. The RAIC is the only national voice for excellence in the built environment in Canada focused on providing Canada’s architectural community with the tools, resources, and education to elevate their practice. The RAIC is committed to showcasing how design enhances quality of life, while advocating for important issues of society through responsible architecture. The RAIC’s purpose is to create a better world for all by empowering Canada’s architectural community. Through our work, the organization envisions a strong architectural community that is valued and empowered to create change. The RAIC’s national office is based in Ottawa with a growing federated chapter model. Current chapters and networks are based in British Columbia, Alberta, and Nova Scotia.   

About the Canadian Institute of Planners   

The Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP) works on behalf of over 9,000 diverse planning professionals and has served as the voice of Canada’s planning community since 1919. Planners safeguard the health and well-being of urban and rural communities by addressing the use of land, resources, facilities, and services with consideration to physical, economic, and social efficiency.

About the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects 

The Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) is a non-profit, national members-based professional organization. It is dedicated to advancing the art, the science and the practice of landscape architecture and celebrates 90 years of support to and advancement of the profession in 2024.