Call for submissions to the RAIC 2021 Awards of Excellence | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

Call for submissions to the RAIC 2021 Awards of Excellence

OTTAWA October 15, 2020– The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is calling for submissions for the 2021 RAIC Awards of Excellence. The deadline for consideration for the Awards of Excellence is January 22, 2021.

Entrants are solely responsible for timely submissions. This date and time are firm without exceptions.

Winners of these prestigious portfolio of awards receive an exceptional opportunity to:

  • Celebrate achievement with their team and clients
  • Reach new markets
  • Attract new business and talent
  • Gain exposure across Canada and internationally


These Awards are presented every two years, and submissions are accepted for the following five categories:

Advocate for Architecture

This award celebrates an individual who has made a public contribution to architecture in Canada. Candidates may be found among clients or patrons, educators, public servants, architects, allied professions, and others. The RAIC’s own advocacy efforts emphasize a better built environment and socially responsible architecture—as well as sustainability, preservation of architectural history, and living conditions in First Nation settlements. The award recognizes long-term commitment to the profession at a national, regional, or local level.

See full submission details

Allied Arts Medal

This award honours a Canadian artist or designer for outstanding achievement for artwork created to be integrated with architecture. Any medium allied to architecture is eligible, including but not limited to murals, sculpture, glass, fabric, lighting, furniture, water, sound, site-specific installation, video, digital, and industrial and landscape design.

See full submission details

Green Building—in partnership with Canada Green Building Council

This award is to recognize outstanding achievements of high-performance architecture in Canada for buildings that are environmentally advanced, and healthy places to live, work, learn, heal, and play. The award recognizes excellence in building design that significantly reduce or eliminate the negative impact of buildings on the environment, enhance occupant and community health and wellbeing, provide for ecological restoration or regeneration.  Seven core areas will be considered:

  • Location and transportation measures
  • Sustainable site planning
  • Safeguarding water and water efficiency
  • Operational & embodied carbon and energy efficiency
  • Health and environmental impact of materials and resources
  • Indoor environmental quality
  • Design excellence and innovation


Although more difficult to assess and measure at this time, additional consideration should be given to innovative project designs incorporating resiliency and adaptation, circularity and regeneration, social equity and accessibility as co-benefits of a broader application of holistic sustainability principles.

This award is open to building projects - either new construction or major renovations - completed after January 1, 2020.

See full submission details

Innovation in Architecture

This award recognizes exceptional architectural innovation, including the research and development and applied use of new technology; unique adaptation of existing technology; new project delivery methods;  new design processes; new details; or the development of new methods related to the construction process.

Innovations cover a wider range of architectural endeavors including, but not limited to Management, Project Delivery, Energy, or Building Envelope. The award is intended to recognize skill and innovation in technology, project delivery, building science, practice of architecture and social innovation.

See full submission details

President’s Award for Multimedia Representations of Architecture

This award recognizes a narrative about buildings and cities that promotes the publics understanding of architecture and the role of architects. The entry must be a body of work. 

See full submission details

About the RAIC

The Royal Architecture Institute of Canada (RAIC) is a not-for-profit, national organization that has represented architects and architecture for over 100 years, in existence since 1907. The RAIC is the leading voice for excellence in the built environment in Canada, demonstrating how design enhances the quality of life, while addressing important issues of society through responsible architecture. The RAIC’s mission is to promote excellence in the built environment and to advocate for responsible architecture. The organization national office is based in Ottawa with a growing federated chapter model. Current chapters and networks are based in British Columbia, Alberta and Nova Scotia.

Media Partner


About V2com

Get published in the world’s leading design publications! With 25 years of leadership in international architecture and design media relations, v2com newswire promotes your projects to the world’s largest specialized media network, getting you published in the most prestigious publications in 95 countries. As a key reference for thousands of journalists, magazines, websites and blogs all around the world, v2com provides the media a reliable source of high-quality information and material to create their articles. That makes v2com the essential tool to get an international media coverage, increase your visibility, and improve your reputation to your clients. Distributing on v2com means opening up to the world! Take advantage of efficient and affordable distribution services to promote your achievements to the media in words and pictures. v2com is your partner for media success!