Architects from 14 Canadian cities named 2019 RAIC Fellows | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

Architects from 14 Canadian cities named 2019 RAIC Fellows

Calgary, Edmundston, Halifax, Hamilton, Lethbridge, Montreal, New Glasgow, Niagara Falls, North Bay, Ottawa, Toronto, Vancouver, Westmount, Winnipeg

OTTAWA, June 25, 2019 – A Toronto architect with a portfolio of subway stations; a Montreal hospital expert; a Vancouver leader in sustainable design, and a Winnipeg scholar working toward a national architecture policy are among the Canadian architects to be named 2019 Fellows.

The College of Fellows of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) bestows Fellowship to RAIC members in recognition of outstanding achievement. Criteria include design excellence, exceptional scholarly contribution, or distinguished service to the profession or the community.

Fellows will be inducted at the College of Fellows Convocation ceremony on October 29 at the Royal Conservatory of Music in Toronto during the annual RAIC Festival of Architecture which takes place October 26 to 30.

Representing Canada coast-to-coast, the 41 new Fellows come from Calgary, AB; Edmundston, NB; Halifax, NS; Hamilton, ON; Lethbridge, AB; Montreal, QC; New Glasgow, NS; Niagara Falls, ON; North Bay, ON; Ottawa, ON; Toronto, ON; Vancouver, BC; Westmount, QC, and Winnipeg, MB.


They include:

  • Richard Lyle Stevens, of IBI Group in Toronto, whose projects include subway stations at Downsview, Sheppard West, Don Mills, Bayview, Finch West, Pioneer Village, Union Station’s second platform, and the Eglinton Crosstown Light Rail project;
  • Jennifer Cutbill, of Local Practice Architecture + Design in Vancouver, who practices and teaches regenerative design, represented BC/Yukon on the RAIC board directors; founded the RAIC’s Committee on Regenerative Environments, and co-founded Vancouver Design Week;
  • Michel Broz, of Jodoin Lamarre Pratte architectes in Montreal, who has led hospital projects across Quebec, including the Critical Care Pavilion (K) at the Jewish General Hospital and expansion of the Sainte-Justine University Hospital Centre;
  • Lisa Landrum, of the University of Manitoba Faculty of Architecture in Winnipeg, who is an associate professor, associate dean (research), and sits on Canadian Architectural Licensing Authorities working group seeking to advance a national architecture policy.


See the full list below. Photos and citations are available by request.


2019 New Fellows



Ron LeLievre, New Glasgow

Craig William Mosher, Halifax

Reno Soucy, Edmundston



Erich Marosi, Westmount

Michel Broz, Montreal


Ontario North and East & Nunavut

Brian Bertrand, North Bay

Paul Dolan, Ottawa

Emmanuelle van Rutten, Ottawa

Robert J. Boraks, Ottawa


Ontario Southwest

Jerry Chlebowski, Toronto

Andrew Bernard Filarski, Toronto

Barbara Miszkiel, Toronto

Chris Couse, Toronto

Chris McQuillan, Toronto

David Stavros, Toronto

Donna Dolan, Toronto

Drew Hauser, Hamilton

Emilio Raimondo, Niagara Falls

Kathleen Kurtin, Toronto

Mark Berest, Toronto

Mark Sterling, Toronto

Megan Torza, Toronto

Patrick B. Fejér, Toronto

Patrick Saavedra, Toronto



Paul George Dowsett, Toronto

Peggy Theodore, Toronto

Richard Lyle Stevens, Toronto

Robert Allen, Toronto

Robert Freedman, Toronto

Rocco Maragna, Toronto

Roland Rom Colthoff, Toronto

Sydney Elizabeth Browne, Toronto

Edward (Ted) Kerry Watson, Toronto



Verne Reimer, Winnipeg

Lisa Landrum, Winnipeg



Graham Livesey, Calgary

Elizabeth Songer, Lethbridge



John Warren Scott, Vancouver

Graham Fligg, Vancouver

Bruce Carscadden, Vancouver

Jennifer Cutbill, Vancouver




The College of Fellows will also induct five Honorary Fellows.

Renzo Piano is one of the best known 20th-century architects for buildings such as the Pompidou Centre, the London Bridge Tower (The Shard), and the Whitney Museum of American Art.

Denise Scott Brown is an outspoken advocate for women in architecture. Her influential book Learning from Las Vegas: The Forgotten Symbolism of Architectural Form, challenged orthodox ideas about modern architecture.

Ivenue Love-Stanley is an architect and pioneer who broke many barriers, including becoming the first African-American woman to graduate from the Georgia Institute of Technology College of Architecture in 1977.

Elizabeth Chu Richter is a Past President of the American Institute of Architects who reached millions of listeners with the radio series, The Shape of Texas, broadcast for 11 years on NPR-affiliate stations.

Vishaan Chakrabarti is a practicing architect, professor of design and urban theory at Columbia University, and the author of A Country of Cities: A Manifesto for an Urban America.


About the RAIC

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is the leading voice for excellence in the built environment in Canada. Representing about 5,000 members, the RAIC advocates for excellence, works to demonstrate how design enhances the quality of life and promotes responsible architecture in addressing important issues of society.