Awards of Excellence — Call for Submissions

Submission Deadline: January 24, 2019

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) issues a call for submissions every two years for its Awards of Excellence:

Advocate for Architecture

This award celebrates an individual who has made a public contribution to architecture in Canada. Candidates may be found among clients or patrons, educators, public servants, architects, allied professions and others. The RAIC’s own advocacy efforts emphasize a better built environment and socially responsible architecture as well as sustainability, preservation of architectural history, and living conditions in First Nation settlements. The award recognizes long-term commitment to the profession at a national, regional or local level.

Allied Arts Medal

This award honours a Canadian artist or designer for outstanding achievement for art work created to be integrated with architecture. Any medium allied to architecture is eligible, including murals, sculpture, glass, fabric, lighting, furniture, water, sound, site-specific installation, video, digital, and industrial and landscape design.

Green Building

This award is to recognize outstanding achievements of high-performance architecture in Canada for buildings that are environmentally responsible and healthy places to live, work and play. The award recognizes building designs and construction practices that significantly reduce or eliminate the negative impact of buildings on the environment and on occupants, or provide for regeneration, in five broad areas:

  • Sustainable site planning
  • Safeguarding water and water efficiency
  • Energy efficiency and renewable energy
  • Conservation of materials and resources
  • Indoor environmental quality

This award is open to built works - either new construction or renovations - completed after January 1, 2016.

Innovation in Architecture

This award recognizes exceptional architectural innovation. Potential areas for innovation include research and development, applied use of new technology and adaptation of existing technology. Innovation can also be demonstrated by new project delivery and construction methods, advanced design processes and fresh approaches to details and materials.

President’s Award for Media in Architecture

This award recognizes storytelling about buildings and cities that promotes understanding of architecture and the role of architects in the daily life of Canadians. The entry can be a single endeavour or a series. Media includes print, broadcast, and online.