Architects from 13 Canadian cities named 2015 Fellows | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

Architects from 13 Canadian cities named 2015 Fellows

OTTAWA April 13, 2015 – A Winnipeg expert in bio-medical facilities, the head of Montreal’s international district, the designer of a major Newfoundland cultural space,  and a Toronto leader who contributed to the Evergreen Brickworks are among the Canadian architects  to be named 2015 Fellows.

The College of Fellows of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) bestows Fellowship in recognition of outstanding achievement. Criteria include design excellence, exceptional scholarly contribution or distinguished service to the profession or the community.

Representing Canada coast-to-coast, the 36 new Fellows come from Halifax, Fredericton, St. John’s, Montreal, Ottawa, Windsor, Toronto, London, Winnipeg, Regina, Calgary, Edmonton, and Vancouver.

They include:

  • Scott Stirton, of Winnipeg, MB, whose projects include the Canadian Science Centre for Human and Animal Health in Winnipeg and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta, GA;
  • Clément Demers, of Montreal, QC, general director of Quartier international de Montréal, a renewal project that has won 31 awards, and professor in urban planning at the University of Montreal;
  • Philip Pratt, of St. John’s, NL, architect for The Rooms in St. John’s (housing  the Newfoundland and Labrador Provincial Archives, Art Gallery and Museum) and champion of local design traditions;
  • Pat Hanson, of Toronto, ON, architect of the Museum of Inuit Art and co-designer of the landscape master plan for the Evergreen Brickworks and June Callwood Park, all in Toronto.

See full list below.

Fellows will be inducted at the College of Fellows Convocation, which takes place during the Festival of Architecture in Calgary, June 3 to 6. The Festival is organized by the RAIC in partnership with the Alberta Association of Architects.

In addition, a prominent Canadian social entrepreneur and a Greek architect, both employing design for social change, will receive Honourary Fellowships at the Festival.

  • Zita Cobb is the founder of Shorefast Foundation, which uses architecture, art, design, craft and food to invigorate the economy and culture of Fogo Island off the coast of Newfoundland.
  • Vassilis Sgoutas is an architect in Athens, Greece. During his tenure as president of the International Union of Architects (UIA), the UIA focused on poverty in the developing world, and barrier-free design.

2015 Fellows


George Anthony Cotaras, FRAIC, Halifax
Barbara A.W. Nicholson, FRAIC, Fredericton
Susan Anne Mansel Fitzgerald, FRAIC, Halifax
Philip Pratt, FRAIC, St. John’s
Christopher Young, FRAIC, Halifax


Clément Demers, FIRAC, Montréal
Sylvie Perrault, FIRAC, Montréal
Annmarie Adams, FRAIC, Montréal


Graham Murfitt, FRAIC, Ottawa
Robert Matthews, FRAIC, Ottawa
Martin Pierre Tite, FRAIC, Ottawa
Vladimir A. Popovic, FRAIC, Ottawa
Yew-Thong Leong, FRAIC, Toronto
Anthony Mancini, FRAIC, Toronto
Thomas Tillmann, FRAIC, London
Richard Witt, FRAIC, Toronto
Giuseppina (Pina) Petricone, FRAIC, Toronto
Pat Hanson, FRAIC, Toronto
Margaret Graham, FRAIC, Toronto
Mary Jane Finlayson, FRAIC, Toronto
Jonathon Soules, FRAIC, Toronto
Jaroslav L. Glos, FRAIC, Windsor

Heather Dubbeldam, FRAIC, Toronto
David Moore, FRAIC, Toronto
Charles Hazell, FRAIC, Toronto
W. Carson Woods, FRAIC, Toronto
Ajon Moriyama, FRAIC, Toronto


Scott Stirton, FRAIC, Winnipeg


Bernard Flaman, FRAIC, Regina


Gene Dub, FRAIC, Edmonton
Amir Hemani, FRAIC, Calgary
Richard John Isaac, FRAIC, Edmonton
Mark Chambers, FRAIC, Calgary

British Columbia

Nicholas John Bevanda, FRAIC, Vancouver
Noel Arthur Edwin Best, FRAIC, Vancouver
Susan Gushe, FRAIC, Vancouver



The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is a voluntary national association, representing 5,000 members. The RAIC advocates for excellence in the built environment, works to demonstrate how design enhances the quality of life and promotes responsible architecture in addressing important issues of society.