Start Search

Governor General's Medals in Architecture
2014 Recipients

"The recipients of the Governor General’s Medals in Architecture have distinguished themselves as visionary Canadian architects. They have designed spaces where communities are forged, memories are enshrined and identity is created in built form. Few architects are able to realize their philosophies so fully in practice and in such diversity of project type and geography."

His Excellency the Right Honourable
David Johnston, C.C., C.M.M., C.O.M., C.D., Governor General of Canada

The Governor General’s Medals in Architecture recognize outstanding achievement in recently built projects by Canadian architects.

This program, created by the RAIC, contributes to the development of the discipline and practice of architecture,
and increases public awareness of architecture as a vital cultural force in Canadian society. These awards are administered jointly with the Canada Council for the Arts, which is responsible for the adjudication process and contributes to the publication highlighting the medal winners.


60 Richmond East Housing Co-Operative


Teeple Architects Inc. (Toronto, ON)

Lead design architect:
Stephen Teeple, FRAIC

Centennial College Athletic and Wellness Centre


Kongats Architects (Toronto, ON)

Lead design architect:
Alar Kongats, MRAIC

Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI) Campus


KPMB Architects (Waterloo, ON)

Lead design architect:
Shirley Blumberg, FRAIC

Conversion of Mies van der Rohe gas station


Les architectes FABG (Verdun, QC)

Lead design architect:
Éric Gauthier, FIRAC

Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Centre for Drug Research and Development, University of British Columbia


Saucier + Perrotte Architectes / Hughes Condon Marler Architects (Vancouver, BC)

Lead design architect:
Gilles Saucier, FIRAC

Joseph L. Rotman School of Management Expansion, University of Toronto


KPMB Architects (Toronto, ON)

Lead design architect:
Bruce Kuwabara, FRAIC
Marianne McKenna, FRAIC

North Vancouver City Hall


Formerly of mcfarlane green biggar ARCHITECTURE + DESIGN, Now of MGA | MICHAEL GREEN ARCHITECTURE (North Vancouver, BC)

Lead design architect:
Michael Green, FRAIC

OMS Stage


5468796 Architecture Inc. (Winnipeg, MB)

Lead design architects:
Johanna Hurme, MRAIC
Sasa Radulovic, MRAIC

Raymond-Lévesque public library


Atelier TAG / Jodoin Lamarre Pratte architectes
(Saint-Hubert, QC)

Lead design architects:
Manon Asselin
Katsuhiro Yamazaki

Residence for the Sisters of St. Joseph of Toronto


Shim-Sutcliffe Architects Inc. (Toronto, ON)

Lead design architects:
Brigitte Shim, FRAIC
Howard Sutcliffe, FRAIC

The Bloor Gladstone Library


RDH Architects Inc./ Shoalts and Zaback Architects Ltd.
(Toronto, ON)

Lead design architect:
Tyler Sharp, MRAIC

Tula House


Patkau Architects Inc. (Quadra Island, BC)

Lead design architects:
John Patkau, FRAIC
Patricia Patkau, FRAIC

Jury Members  >>