RAIC Gold Medal | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

RAIC Gold Medal


The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada's Gold Medal is the highest honour that the Institute can bestow in recognition of a significant and lasting contribution to Canadian architecture. The honour recognizes a significant body of work deemed to have lasting influence as demonstrated through excellence in design; excellence in research; and/or excellence in education. It considers the individual’s breadth and scope of expertise; established presence within the public sphere; exemplary approaches to environmental sustainability; support and advancement of social justice; and commitment to the future generation of architects.

Any individual may be nominated to receive the Gold Medal.

The Gold Medal is offered annually. 

The call for submissions is currently OPEN until January 14, 2022 at 11:59 PM EST. Check it out to learn more and apply!


2021 Recipient - Brigitte Shim and Howard Sutcliffe

Past Recipients 

Terms of Reference - Updated August 2021


Past recipients photos, from left to right: Brigitte Shim and Howard Sutcliffe, Blanche Lemco van Ginkel, FRAIC, Gilles Saucier and André Perrotte, Roger Terence du Toit, FRAIC, Brian MacKay-Lyons, FRAIC, Peter Busby, FRAIC