Awards of Excellence - Innovation in Architecture | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

Awards of Excellence - Innovation in Architecture

Submission details

Entry Fee: $415.00

GST included (MB, AB, SK, YK, NWT, BC, NU) -  $435.75
QST/GST included (QC) -  $477.15
HST included (ON) -  $468.95
HST included (NB, NF, NS, PEI) -  $477.25

Payment by credit card accompany each entry.


RAIC Members are eligible to submit for this award (view Membership forms)

Submission Requirements:

Submissions will be judged on the following criteria:

  • Clarity;
  • Degree of resolution of all required aspects and details of the project;
  • Complexity of the project;
  • Ingenuity in the communication of ideas and development of the construction documents;
  • New solutions to achieve sustainability.

Submission Requirements:

Submissions will be completed using the NEW online submission platform.

Submissions must be received before 11: 59 p.m. EST, Friday, January 22, 2021. Entrants are solely responsible for timely submissions. This date and time are firm without exceptions.


The following items must be completed or provided:

  1. Completed submission form;
  2. Submission entry fee;
  3. A project credit sheet;
  4. A 500-word project description outlining the objectives and significance of the project.   This text should be conceived to be accessible to the general public.
  5. A 100-word media statement crafted for website postings and media campaign requirements.
  6. A three-page written summary. Innovations in quantifiables areas should be supported with measurable comparisons and data; the summary must also answer the following questions, where applicable:


    What is the specific performance improvement/enhancement of this particular innovation? (Science)


    What are the broader implications to other projects of this innovation? (any category)


    How does this innovation further the practice of architecture? (Business/Practice)

  7. All graphic images necessary to describe the innovation must also be provided;
  8. A numerical index listing all photos and providing full photo credit information, including photographer/agency name;
  9. In the case of collaborations, the submission must include a clear description of the role of each individual;
  10. A signed declaration by the RAIC member.

Entries can be submitted either in English or in French.

All winning entries will be retained by the RAIC for publication, exhibition and archival purposes. Unsuccessful entries will not be returned.

Note: Once you have started the online submission process, you may 'save' and come back at a later date to complete your submission (prior to the submission deadline).

Selection Process:

The Awards Committee will appoint a jury of three (3) persons who will meet at the RAIC National Office to make their determinations as to the conference of the awards. The jury will include three Canadian architects; or, two Canadian architects recognized for innovation, and one Canadian Engineer involved in the building industry or a representative from the National Research Council – Institute for Research in Construction. The jury may call upon outside expertise to evaluate the specific innovation. The Jury shall forward its decision to the RAIC Board of Directors regarding the winning entries. The President of the RAIC shall bestow the award.

Number of Awards:

A maximum of three awards may be conferred at the discretion of the jury.

At its discretion the jury may elect not to confer an award.

The award shall be a medal, cast with the RAIC emblem and inscribed on the reverse:

Name of firm

Award of Excellence
Innovation in Architecture
(insert year)

Name of Project


The award is to be offered every two years.

Public Presentation:

The presentation of the RAIC Awards of Excellence for Innovation in Architecture will be made at the Annual RAIC Conference on Architecture or other suitable ceremony.

For more information:
Tel.: 613-241-3600, ext. 2015
Fax: 613-241-5750

Other Links

International Newswire Partner