Municipal Urban Design Awards | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

Municipal Urban Design Awards

The National Urban Design Awards of the RAIC, Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP) and the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) recognize excellence in urban design and demonstrate its importance to the general public. The Urban Design Awards program was established in 2006 to recognize individuals, organizations, firms, and projects that have contributed to the quality of life and sustainability in Canadian cities.

The two-tiered program is a cooperative venture between the RAIC, CIP and CSLA and Canadian municipalities.

In the first year of a two-year cycle, Canadian municipalities will administer a local, RAIC/CIP/CSLA endorsed, Urban Design Award Program.

In the second year, the RAIC/CIP/CSLA will conduct a National Urban Design Awards program.  Participants will include winners from Canadian municipalities and be an open competition so that worthy initiatives undertaken in other communities across Canada may also be recognized. 

Municipal Level

The following cities have established local Urban Design Award programs. Winners from these programs are invited to submit to the National Urban Design Awards. 

Municipality   Deadline
Toronto April 26, 2021
Mississauga April 30, 2021
Hamilton June 11, 2021
London June 18, 2021
Halifax Regional Municipality January 31, 2021
Niagara Region Not available in 2021
Vancouver  Not available in 2021
Calgary Not available in 2021
Ottawa September 3, 2021
Edmonton To be confirmed
Kitchener To be confirmed
Brampton To be confirmed