Governor General’s Medals in Architecture: Call for entries

OTTAWA, October 18, 2017 – The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and the Canada Council for the Arts invite architects to participate in the competition for the 2018 Governor General’s Medals in Architecture.

Awarded every two years, the medals recognize and celebrate outstanding design in recently completed built projects – big or small – by Canadian architects. They are among this country’s most prestigious and coveted architectural awards.

Submission deadline: December 1, 2017, 4 p.m. ET. Applying is quick and easy at RAIC members receive a discount on the entry fee.The 2018 competition will result in the awarding of 12 Governor General’s Medals in Architecture.

Celebrate your work with your team and clients, reach new markets, attract new business and talent, and gain exposure across Canada and internationally.Award-winners are promoted by the RAIC and the Canada Council; the 2016 winners appeared in a wide range of media outlets in Canada and internationally.

The RAIC, with the RAIC College of Fellows, is proud to organize and administer the competition. The Canada Council for the Arts is responsible for selecting and administering the peer assessment committee.

The call for submissions is open to all architects or team of architects who are Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada and are licensed/registered with a Canadian, provincial or territorial Jurisdiction and were the lead design architects.

Eligible projects are those that were built in and outside of Canada and completed between January 1, 2010, and September 1, 2017.

The following are NOT eligible:

  • projects having received a Governor General’s Medal in Architecture in a previous competition;
  • projects with involvement of a peer assessment committee member (jury) for the 2018 competition; or a member of the RAIC Awards Committee or RAIC staff; or a member of the Board or staff of the Canada Council for the Arts.

Medals are awarded for excellence in the art of architecture. The primary criterion will be the architectural artistic merit of the design, including such elements as conceptual clarity, innovation and uniqueness, compatibility with the site, sustainable design and detailing.

The jury members are:

  • David T. Fortin, MRAIC, PhD,
    Architect and Assistant Professor, Laurentian University McEwen School of Architecture (Alberta, Saskatchewan and Sudbury, Ontario);
  • Adele Weder, MASA, Hon. MRAIC
    Editor 2017-18, Canadian Architect (Vancouver, BC;
  • Andrew Frontini, MRAIC
    Design Director, Principal Perkins + Will (Toronto, ON);
  • Andrea Wolff, FRAIC
    Founding Partner, ARCHITEM Wolff Shapiro Kuskowski Architects (Montreal, QC);
  • Róisín Heneghan;

Founding Partner, Heneghan Peng Architects (Dublin, Ireland)


About the Governor General’s Medals in Architecture

The Governor General’s Medals in Architecture, created by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, contribute to the development of the discipline and practice of architecture and increase public awareness of architecture as a vital cultural force in Canadian society.

The objective is to recognize and celebrate outstanding design in recently completed built projects by Canadian architects. The 2018 competition continues a tradition initiated by the Massey Medals in 1950, providing an important source of understanding of the nature of Canadian architecture and the regional, cultural and historic forces expressed in the built environment.

About the RAIC

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is the leading voice for excellence in the built environment in Canada. Representing about 5,000 members, the RAIC advocates for excellence, works to demonstrate how design enhances the quality of life and promotes responsible architecture in addressing important issues of society.

About Canada Council for the Arts

The Canada Council for the Arts is Canada’s national public arts funder. It champions and invests in artistic excellence so that Canadians may enjoy and participate in a rich cultural life. In 2016-17, it allocated $196.8 million towards artistic creation and innovation through grants, prizes, and payments.