Call for submissions: Municipal Urban Design Awards

The National Urban Design Awards of the RAIC, Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP) and the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) recognize excellence in urban design and demonstrate its importance to the general public. The Urban Design Awards program was established in 2006 to recognize individuals, organizations, firms, and projects that have contributed to the quality of life and sustainability in Canadian cities.

The two-tiered program is a cooperative venture between the RAIC, CIP and CSLA and Canadian municipalities.

In the first year of a two-year cycle, Canadian municipalities will administer a local, RAIC/CIP/CSLA endorsed, Urban Design Award Program.

In the second year, the RAIC/CIP/CSLA will conduct a National Urban Design Awards program.  Participants will include the previous year’s winners from Canadian municipalities and be an open competition so that worthy initiatives undertaken in other communities across Canada may also be recognized.

Municipal Level

The following cities have established local Urban Design Award programs. Winners from these programs are invited to submit to the National Urban Design Awards.




Submission Deadline



September 5, 2017





August 15, 2017




July 31, 2017











October 2017





August 10, 2017







September 22, 2017