Conférence sur l'architecture de l’IRAC 2022 - Appel de propositions



À PROPOS
 | CALENDRIER |  SÉANCES | VISITES



L'Institut royal d'architecture du Canada (IRAC) lance un appel de propositions pour des séances de formation continue et les visites architecturales, dans le cadre de la Conférence de l'IRAC 2022, qui aura lieu du 11 au 14 mai 2022 à Vancouver, au Colombie-Britannique.

 
Le programme, qui vise la réussite professionnelle et éducative, comportera des activités d'apprentissage de grande qualité, notamment du contenu interactif, des idées novatrices et des discussions intéressantes. Les participants, quel que soit leur niveau professionnel, y trouveront des idées, une source d'inspiration et des applications pratiques. Ne manquez pas cette occasion exceptionnelle de partager votre expertise, vos idées et vos connaissances dans le cadre de cet événement.

 
L'IRAC continue de surveiller de près la pandémie de COVID-19 par l'entremise de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Cet événement est planifié dans un format hybride avec un accès en personne et virtuel, cependant, il est possible que ce plan doive changer en fonction de l'évolution du contexte pandémique. Les présentateurs confirmés seront tenus au courant des nouvelles informations au besoin. Vous trouverez ci-dessous des informations et des détails qui vous aideront à soumettre une proposition via le formulaire de soumission.
Vous trouverez ci-dessous des informations et des détails qui vous permettront de soumettre une proposition au moyen du formulaire de candidature.
 



Ouverture de l'appel de propositions - le 7 juin 2021
Fermeture de l'appel de propositions - le 30 juillet 2021
Notification de la décision – le 1er octobre 2021 
La Conférence sur l'architecture de l'IRAC – le 11 au 14 mai 2022  
 



Détails des propositions 

Dates et heures

Les séances de formation continue retenues seront programmées les 12, 13 ou 14 juin entre 9 h et 17 h (HAE). En raison de la complexité du calendrier, l'IRAC attribuera la date et l'heure de chaque séance de formation continue. Les détails seront indiqués dans les messages de notification envoyés aux organisateurs des séances.  

En plus de la présentation en personne, les soumissions retenues seront invitées à enregistrer leur présentation en avril 2022 pour être incluses dans la partie virtuelle de la conférence. Un modèle hybride de conférence offrira une accessibilité accrue à ceux qui ne pourraient autrement pas assister à l'événement en personne.

La préférence sera accordée aux propositions qui indiquent un accord pour la présentation en personne et préenregistrée de la présentation.

Durée des séances

Les séances proposées doivent être d'une durée de 60. Une période de questions-réponses de 10 minutes doit être incluse dans ce délai. 

Nombre de conférenciers



Chaque proposition peut comporter deux conférenciers au maximum. Dans le cas des propositions comportant plus d'un conférencier, le premier conférencier sera identifié comme le point de contact principal. Toutes les communications seront envoyées au premier conférencier, qui sera chargé de communiquer les informations relatives à la conférence à l'autre conférencier. Chaque conférencier peut indiquer une adresse électronique qu'il souhaite faire figurer sur toute la correspondance. Les conférenciers peuvent soumettre plus d'une proposition.

Titre et description des séances de la Conférence 

Le titre et la description des séances doivent refléter avec précision le contenu de la séance et inclure tous les éléments énumérés ci-dessous.

  • Le titre et la description seront tous les deux publiés dans le programme et doivent être distincts et indiquer clairement le contenu de la présentation.
  • Il est recommandé de prévoir des possibilités d'interaction entre les participants lors de la conception de la séance.
  • Les propositions doivent être éducatives et ne peuvent être promotionnelles. Le titre de la séance ne doit pas dépasser 100 caractères, tandis que la description ne doit pas dépasser 2500 caractères.
  • Les sessions interactives sont encouragées.Les propositions doivent être de nature éducative.
  • Les propositions ne peuvent pas être de nature promotionnelle. Les propositions de nature promotionnelle ou commerciale ne seront pas admissibles.
  • L'IRAC se réserve le droit de modifier la longueur, la clarté ou la formulation de la proposition.

     

Résultats d'apprentissage

La proposition doit décrire clairement au moins quatre résultats d'apprentissage (c'est-à-dire les connaissances pratiques que les participants acquerront en participant à cette séance) qui permettent d'atteindre un niveau de connaissances élevé dans le domaine de l'architecture.

Bien formuler les résultats d'apprentissage a pour but de permettre aux participants d'établir leurs attentes par rapport à la séance à venir, et de bien comprendre les points qui seront abordés et ce qu'ils apprendront. Les résultats d'apprentissage ne sont pas une reformulation du titre, du résumé de la séance ou des compétences du conférencier et :

  • doivent être clairs et concis - les résultats d'apprentissage doivent être courts et se résumer à environ une phrase, ils ne doivent pas être trop longs ou complexes.
  • doivent compléter la phrase : « À l'issue de ce cours (ou de cette séance), le participant sera en mesure de…».
  • doivent utiliser des verbes cohérents avec les domaines d'apprentissage (voir tableau 1).
  • évitez les mots comme apprécier, approcher, améliorer et comprendre.
  • doivent être mesurables - le conférencier est en mesure de constater les résultats.
  • un exemple de résultat d'apprentissage bien écrit est : « À la fin de cette session, les participants seront en mesure de décrire pourquoi il est important de prendre en compte le risque dans la conception ».

 

Anderson, L. W., & Krathwohl, D. R. (2001). A Taxonomy for learning, teaching and assessing: A revision of Bloom’s Taxonomy of Educational Objectives. New York: Longman.



Volets 



La Conférence de l'IRAC sur l'architecture comporte cinq grands volets. Chaque proposition doit porter sur l'un des volets suivants :

Histoire, patrimoine et culture

Les exemples comprennent:

Conservation du patrimoine

Réutilisation adaptative

Réutilisation adaptative des bâtiments patrimoniaux

Histoire architecturale

Théorie architecturale

Durabilité, technologie et construction

Les exemples comprennent:

Conception de l'enveloppe du bâtiment

Conception résiliente

Performance thermique

Systèmes de construction, matériaux et assemblage

Bâtiments à énergie zéro

Logement, aménagement et urbanisme

Santé, sécurité et accessibilité

Les exemples comprennent:

Conception à plus haute densité

Interventions urbaines

Développements à usage mixte

Infrastructures urbaines

Pratique et activités de l'architecture 

La pratique de l’architecture et les affaires en architecture

Les exemples comprennent:

Développement commercial et opérations

Finances de l'entreprise et gestion des risques

Méthodologies de pratique

Diversité, équité et inclusion dans la pratique

Si une séance proposée ne relève pas de ces volets, les conférenciers auront la possibilité de sélectionner «Autre» et de proposer une alternative. Bien que l'IRAC tiendra compte de ces alternatives, elle pourrait déplacer une proposition dans l'un des cinq principaux volets.


Biographies des conférenciers

Une courte biographie de chaque conférencier doit être présentée. Les biographies ne doivent pas dépasser 2500 caractères, sous forme descriptive et définitive, telles qu'elles apparaîtront dans le programme de la Conférence. L'IRAC peut modifier la longueur, la clarté ou la formulation de la biographie. 

Portraits

Les propositions doivent inclure un portrait de chaque conférencier, comportant les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Format : PNG ou JPEG
  • Taille : 350 px X 420 px
  • Noir et blanc
  • L'image doit être rectangulaire avec un espace au-dessus, à gauche et à droite du sujet (éviter les très gros plans).
  • Nom du fichier : Prénom_Nom

     

Besoins audiovisuels 



Les conférenciers auront accès à un équipement audiovisuel standard (ordinateur portable, projecteur, écran, câbles HDMI/VGA et audio). Les participants pourront être assis en cercle ou en rangées.

La prestation virtuelle de la session se fera à l'aide d'une plateforme de vidéoconférence fournie par l'IRAC.

Enregistrements de session

Les enregistrements des sessions auront lieu en avril 2022 et seront organisés par l'IRAC. Les dates d'enregistrement seront fournies avec les lettres d'acceptation en octobre 2021.



Matériel de présentation 



Les conférenciers doivent envoyer des copies de tout le matériel de présentation, y compris les documents à distribuer et les diapositives, par courriel au plus tard le 12 avril 2022 à 20 h (HAE). Les documents seront examinés par l'IRAC et pourront être publiés sur son site Web et son application mobile. Un modèle de présentation sera fourni aux candidats retenus. 

Processus de sélection et évaluation 



L'IRAC déploie tous les efforts nécessaires pour assurer la qualité du contenu et de la prestation de ses programmes de formation continue, y compris ceux présentés lors de la Conférence de l'IRAC. Les propositions pour la Conférence seront évaluées par le Comité du programme de formation continue de la Conférence (CPFCC) selon un processus d'évaluation à l'aveugle.



Les dossiers de candidature incomplets ne seront pas évalués.

Les candidatures sont évaluées en fonction des critères suivants :

  • La séance est décrite clairement et en détail;
  • Elle aborde un thème pertinent à la profession d'architecte;
  • Elle apporte de nouvelles informations ou connaissances sur le sujet;
  • Elle compte quatre objectifs d'apprentissage clairement formulés;
  • Elle s’inscrit dans le cadre du programme général;

     

Les présentations doivent être éducatives et non commerciales. Le CPFCC se réserve le droit de prendre la décision finale concernant la sélection du programme de la Conférence 2022. Toutes les présentations sont examinées collectivement afin de constituer le meilleur programme général de la Conférence. Même si une candidature individuelle peut répondre à tous les critères, elle peut ne pas être retenue. Tous les candidats seront informés du statut de leur candidature (acceptation ou non-acceptation) selon le calendrier affiché.

Avantages offerts aux conférenciers

Les frais de voyage et d'hébergement (y compris une nuitée gratuite à l'hôtel de la Conférence) seront remboursés conformément à la politique de l'IRAC. Les détails seront fournis aux conférenciers retenus. Ces avantages s'appliquent à au plus deux conférenciers par séance (d'une durée maximale de 1,5 heure). Les conférenciers ont droit à un laissez-passer gratuit pour la journée de la Conférence, le jour de leur présentation et à une réduction de 50 % pour un laissez-passer de conférence à accès illimité. L'IRAC ne verse pas de compensation financière ou d'honoraires aux conférenciers.

Consentement

En soumettant une proposition, les conférenciers acceptent de participer à la Conférence de l'IRAC 2022 sur l'architecture. Les participants comprennent également :

  • L'IRAC enregistrera, reproduira, distribuera et diffusera la présentation et tout matériel d'accompagnement tel que les diapositives.
  • L'IRAC publiera les documents de présentation sur le système de gestion de l'apprentissage de l'IRAC, une plateforme sécurisée pour les participants inscrits;
  • Qu'ils n'ont enfreint aucun droit de propriété intellectuelle, y compris l'utilisation de matériel ou d'images sans autorisation.
  • Ils sont responsables de toute violation du droit d'auteur ou d'autres droits de propriété intellectuelle, y compris tout dommage ou amende.
  • L'IRAC détient les droits sur l'enregistrement audio/vidéo;
  • L'IRAC utilise le matériel à des fins éducatives ou promotionnelles;
  • La présentation a été, en tout ou en partie, préparée à l'origine pour la Conférence de l'Institut royal d'architecture du Canada sur l'architecture.
  • Les présentateurs conservent les droits moraux d'être dûment crédités de la paternité de la présentation.

     

Pour plus d'information 



Pour plus d'informations ou si vous avez besoin d'aide, contactez conference@raic.org.



 



 
L'Institut royal d'architecture du Canada (IRAC) sollicite des propositions de visites architecturales uniques et enrichissantes. Les visites proposées doivent avoir pour but de faire participer et d'éduquer les délégués tout en présentant ce que la ville de Vancouver a à offrir au chapitre des nouveaux projets et des projets patrimoniaux. Les visites architecturales peuvent comprendre des bâtiments, des immeubles commerciaux et résidentiels, des quartiers, des projets communautaires et tout autre espace bâti.
Les visites doivent commencer et se terminer au Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre (lieu de la Conférence). En raison du calendrier général de la conférence, seules les visites à pied dans un rayon de 2 km du lieu de la conférence (centre-ville de Vancouver) seront examinées.
 
Détails des propositions
 

Titre et description des visites 

Le titre et la description doivent refléter fidèlement le contenu de la visite et comprendre tous les éléments énumérés ci-dessous. Le titre et la description seront tous deux publiés dans le programme et devront être distincts et indiquer clairement ce que la visite comprendra.
 
Il est recommandé de prévoir des possibilités d'interaction entre les participants lors de la conception de la visite guidée. Les propositions doivent être éducatives et ne peuvent promotionnelles. Le titre de la séance ne doit pas dépasser 100 caractères, tandis que la description ne doit pas dépasser 2500 caractères. L'IRAC peut modifier la longueur, la clarté ou la formulation de la proposition. Le point de contact unique sera avisé si des modifications sont demandées à une proposition.
 
Dates et heures 


Les visites architecturales retenues seront programmées le 12, 13 ou 14 juin. Les visites se dérouleront en deux périodes dans le programme de la Conférence : 9 h à 12 h et 14 h à 17 h. En raison de la complexité de l'horaire, l'IRAC se réserve la décision finale quant à la date et à l'heure de chaque visite architecturale. Les détails seront inclus dans les lettres de notification.



Durée

 
Les visites devraient durer de 1 à 2 heures y compris le temps de trajet vers et depuis l'hôtel Bonaventure (le lieu de la conférence).  
 

Nombre de participants 



Les visites doivent compter de 20 à 25 participants.  



Coûts



Tous les coûts liés à la visite doivent être indiqués clairement dans la proposition (par exemple, les frais d'entrée).



Équipement de protection individuelle (EPI)



Les animateurs qui proposent des visites devront préciser si la visite prévue se déroule dans un projet en construction et nécessite des casques, des bottes de chantier ou tout autre équipement. 



Accessibilité



L'IRAC déploie tous les efforts nécessaires pour offrir un accès universel à des événements sécuritaires, inclusifs et accessibles dans le cadre de la Conférence. Les propositions de visites locales doivent être accessibles à tous.



Nombre d'animateurs de visites guidées



Chaque proposition peut comporter au plus deux animateurs. Dans le cas de propositions comportant plus d'un animateur, le premier animateur sera identifié comme étant la personne à contacter. Toutes les communications seront envoyées au premier animateur, qui sera chargé de communiquer les informations relatives à la Conférence à l'autre animateur. Chaque animateur aura la possibilité d'indiquer une adresse électronique qu'il souhaite faire figurer sur toute la correspondance. Les animateurs peuvent soumettre plus d'une proposition.  



Biographie des animateurs 

Une courte biographie de chaque animateur doit être fournie. Les biographies doivent comporter un maximum de 2 500 caractères, sous forme narrative et finalisées telles qu'elles apparaîtront dans le programme de la Conférence. L'IRAC peut modifier la longueur, la clarté ou l'utilisation de la langue.

Photo des animateurs



Les propositions doivent comprendre un portrait de chaque animateur, comportant les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Format : PNG ou JPEG
  • Taille : 350 px X 420 px
  • Noir et blanc
  • L'image doit être rectangulaire avec un arrière-plan au-dessus, à gauche et à droite du sujet (éviter les très gros plans).
  • Nom du fichier : Prénom_Nom

     
Image promotionnelle de la visite

 
Les propositions doivent comprendre une photo promotionnelle à haute résolution, comportant les caractéristiques suivantes :
  • Format : PNG ou JPEG
  • En couleurs
  • Taille : de 100px x 100pm à 500px x 500px

Processus de sélection et évaluation 

L'IRAC déploie tous les efforts nécessaires pour assurer la qualité du contenu et de la prestation de ses programmes de formation continue, y compris ceux présentés lors de la Conférence de l'IRAC. Les propositions pour la Conférence seront évaluées par le Comité du programme de formation continue de la Conférence selon un processus d'évaluation à l'aveugle. Les propositions incomplètes ne seront pas évaluées.

Les propositions sont évaluées en fonction des critères suivants :

  • La visite est décrite clairement et en détail;
  • La visite architecturale est pertinente à la profession d'architecte;
  • La visite architecturale apporte de nouvelles informations ou connaissances sur le sujet;
  • Elle s’inscrit dans le cadre de la programmation globale;

     

Les présentations doivent être éducatives et non commerciales. Le Comité du programme de formation continue de la Conférence (CPFCC) se réserve le droit de prendre la décision finale concernant la sélection du programme de la Conférence 2022. Toutes les présentations sont examinées collectivement afin de constituer le meilleur programme général de la Conférence. Même si une candidature individuelle peut répondre à tous les critères, elle peut ne pas être acceptée. Tous les candidats seront informés du statut de leur candidature (acceptation ou non-acceptation) selon le calendrier affiché.

Avantages offerts aux animateurs



Les frais de voyage et d'hébergement (y compris une nuitée gratuite à l'hôtel de la Conférence) seront remboursés conformément à la politique de l'IRAC. Les détails seront fournis aux animateurs  retenus. Ces avantages s'appliquent à au plus deux animateurs par visite guidée. Les animateurs ont droit à un laissez-passer gratuit pour la journée de la Conférence où se déroule la visite.

Consentement

En soumettant une proposition, les animateurs acceptent de présenter et de participer à la Conférence IRAC 2022 sur l'architecture. Les animateurs comprennent également :

  • Aucun honoraire professionnels n'est fourni;
  • L'IRAC publiera tout matériel de présentation sur le système de gestion de l'apprentissage de l'IRAC, une plateforme sécurisée pour les participants inscrits;
  • Ils conservent le droit moral d'être dûment crédités de la paternité de la tournée.

     

Pour plus d'information 



Pour plus d'informations ou si vous avez besoin d'aide, contactez conference@raic.org.

RAIC 2022 Conference on Architecture | Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

RAIC 2022 Conference on Architecture

 
 
 

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) invites proposals for continuing education sessions and architectural tours, during the RAIC 2022 Conference on Architecture —taking place May 11 to 14, 2022 in Vancouver, BC.  

The program, which is tailored for professional and educational success, will feature high-quality learning opportunities that include interactive content, innovative ideas, and engaging discussions. Participants at all career levels will take away insights, inspiration, and ideas for practical application.  Don’t miss this rewarding opportunity to share your expertise, relevant content, and insight at this exceptional event. We encourage topics and content that are novel, original, and not presented at another event.  

The RAIC continues to closely monitor the COVID-19 pandemic via the Public Health Agency of Canada. This event is being planned in a hybrid format with in-person and virtual access, however, it is possible that this plan will need to change based on the evolving pandemic context. Confirmed presenters will be kept up to date with new information as required. Below you will find information and details that will help you submit a proposal through the submission form.  

The RAIC welcomes everyone to the organization. We are committed to equity and justice as well as inclusion across race, colour, religion, gender, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, disability and age and encourages anyone interested to submit a proposal

Back
 
 
 
Call for Proposals Opens - June 7, 2021 
Call for Proposals Closes – July 30, 2021 at 11:59 p.m. Pacific Time  
Notification of Final Acceptance – October 1, 2021  
RAIC 2022 Conference on Architecture – May 11 to May 14, 2022 
 
Back
 
 
 
Proposal Details 

Date and Time
Successful continuing education sessions will be scheduled for in-person presentation on May 12, May 13, or May 14 between 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. PT. Due to the complexity of scheduling, the RAIC will assign the date and time for each continuing education session. Details will be included in notification messages sent to successful proposal contacts.   

In addition to in-person presentation, successful submissions will be asked to record their presentation in April 2022 for inclusion in the virtual portion of the conference. A hybrid model for conference will provide increased accessibility for those who are not otherwise able to attend the in-person event.

Preference will be given to proposals that indicate agreement for both in-person and pre-recorded delivery of the presentation.

Session length

All sessions are 60 minutes in length. A 10-minute Q&A session must be included within the presentation format.   
 
Number of Speakers

Each proposal can have a maximum of two speakers. For submissions with more than one speaker, the first speaker will be identified as the main point of contact. All communication will be sent to the first speaker—and they will be responsible for communicating conference information with the other speaker. Each speaker may identify one email address that they wish to copy on all correspondence. Speakers are welcome to submit more than one proposal.  
 
Conference Session Title and Description

The session title and description should accurately reflect content and include all of the elements listed below. 
 
  • Both the title and description will be published in the program and should stand alone and clearly convey what the presentation will cover.
  • The session title should be a maximum of 100 characters while the session description should be a maximum of 2500 characters
  • Interactive sessions are encouraged. 
  • Proposals should be educational in nature
  • Proposals cannot be promotional in nature. Proposals that are promotional or commercial in nature will not be eligible for consideration.
  • The RAIC may edit the length, clarity, or language in the proposal. 
 
Learning Outcomes

The proposal should clearly outline a minimum of four learning outcomes that provide an advanced level of knowledge relevant to the practice or business of architecture.

The purpose of providing well-written learning outcomes is to set the expectations of the participants for the upcoming session and clearly state what a learner will be able to do upon completion of the session. Learning outcomes are not a restating of the title, the session summary, or the speaker credentials. Learning outcome elements:

  • be clear and concise – keep learning outcomes short and approximately one sentence, they should not be long or complex.
  • begin with the phrase “At the completion of this, participants will be able to...”
  • use  verbs consistent with learning domains (see table 1)
  • avoid words like appreciate, approach, improve and understand
  • must be measurable – a participant can demonstrate what they have learned. 
  • an example of a well written learning outcome is: “At the end of this session, participants will be able to describe why it is important to consider risk in design”  
 
 
Anderson, L. W., & Krathwohl, D. R. (2001). A Taxonomy for learning, teaching and assessing: A revision of Bloom’s Taxonomy of Educational Objectives. New York: Longman.
 
Streams

The RAIC Conference on Architecture has five main streams. Each proposal should focus on one of the following: 
 
History, Heritage, and Culture 
  • Examples include: 
  • Heritage conservation 
  • Adaptive reuse 
  • Adaptive reuse of heritage buildings 
  • Architectural history  
  • Architectural theory
 
Sustainability, Technology, and Construction 
Examples include:
  • Building Envelope DesignResilient design  
  • Thermal performance  
  • Building systems, materials and assembly 
  • Zero-energy buildings
 
Housing, Planning, and Urbanism 
Examples include: 
  • Higher density design  
  • Urban interventions 
  • Mixed-use developments 
  • Urban infrastructure  
 
Health, Safety, and Accessibility 
Examples include:  
  • Universal design 
  • Health and Wellness  
  • Long term care design 
  • Pandemic / Post pandemic design  
  • Fire safety 
 
The Practice and Business of Architecture 
Examples include: 
  • Business development and operations  
  • Firm finances and risk management 
  • Practice methodologies  
  • Diversity, equity and inclusion in practice 
 
If a proposed session does not fall within these streams, speakers will have the option to select "Other" and provide an alternative. The RAIC will make the final decision as to which stream a proposal will be included in. 
  
Speaker Biographies

A short biography for each speaker must be included with the proposal. Biographies should be a maximum of 2,500 characters, in narrative form, and finalized as they will appear in the Conference program. The RAIC may edit for length, clarity, or language use. 
 
Headshots

Proposals must include a headshot for each speaker with the following specifications:
  • Format: Either .png or .jpeg 
  • Size: 350px X 420px 
  • Black and white 
  • Rectangular with background space above and to the left and right of the subject (avoid extreme close-ups) 
  • File name: First Name_Last Name

     
Audio-Visual Requirements

Speakers will have access to a standard AV set up for in-person presentations (laptop, projector, screen, HDMI/VGA cables and audio). Room layout will be finalized by the RAIC within 8-weeks of the event.
 
Virtual delivery of the session will take place using a video-conferencing platform provided by the RAIC.
 
Session Recordings

Session recordings will take place in April 2022 and will be organized by the RAIC. Recording dates will be provided with acceptance letters in October 2021.
 
Presentation Materials

Session materials (slide deck, handouts) must be submitted by email no later than April 12, 2022 at 5:00 p.m. PT. Materials will be reviewed by the RAIC and may be published on the RAIC website and mobile application. A presentation template will be provided to successful applicants. 
 
Selection Process and Evaluation

The RAIC works diligently to ensure the highest quality content and delivery of its continuing education programs, including those presented during the RAIC Conference. Conference proposals will be evaluated by the Conference Continuing Education Program Committee (CCEPC) using a blind review process. Incomplete submissions will not be evaluated. Submissions deemed promotional in nature will not be evaluated. 
 
Submissions are evaluated on the following criteria: 
  • A clear and comprehensive session description; 
  • The subject matter is relevant to the profession of architecture; 
  • Session contributes new information or knowledge on the topic; 
  • Four clearly articulated learning objectives are outlined; 
  • Fit within the overarching programming;

The CCEPC reserves the right to make the final decision for selection for the Conference 2022 program. All submissions are reviewed collectively to realize the best overall program for the conference. Although an individual submission may meet all criteria, it may not be accepted. All applicants will be notified as to the status of the submission (acceptance or non-acceptance) according to the posted timeline.

Speaker Benefits

Travel and accommodation expenses (including a one-night complimentary stay at the Conference hotel) will be reimbursed according to RAIC policy. Details will be provided to accepted speakers in October 2021. These benefits apply to a maximum of two speakers per session. Speakers are  eligible for a complimentary day pass for the day of their presentation and a 50% discount for an All-Access Conference Pass.  The RAIC does not provide financial compensation or honoraria to speakers. 
 
Consent

By submitting a proposal, speakers agree to participate in the RAIC 2022 Conference on Architecture. Participants also understand:  
  • No honorarium or professional fee is provided;
  • The RAIC will record, reproduce, distribute, and broadcast the presentation and any accompanying materials such as slide decks.
  • The RAIC will publish the presentation materials on the RAIC Learning Management System, a secure platform for registered attendees;
  • That they have not infringed any intellectual property rights including using any material or images without permission.;
  • They are responsible for any violation of copyright or other intellectual property rights including any damages or fines.   
  • The RAIC owns rights to the audio / video recording;
  • The RAIC uses the material for educational or promotional purposes;
  • The presentation was, in whole or in part, originally prepared for the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Conference on Architecture.    
  • Presenters retain moral rights to be appropriately credited with authorship of the presentation. 
 
More Information

For more information or if you require any assistance, contact conference@raic.org.  
 
Back
 
 
 
 
The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) invites proposals for unique and informative architectural tours. Proposed tours should seek to engage and educate delegates while showcasing what the city of Vancouver has to offer in terms of new and heritage projects. 
 
Architectural Tours may include buildings, commercial & residential, neighbourhoods, community projects, and any other built spaces. Tours must depart and return to the Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre (the Conference venue). Due to the overall Conference schedule, only walking tours within a 2 km radius of the conference venue (downtown Vancouver) will be reviewed.

 
Back
 
Proposal Details

 
Tour Title and Description

The tour title and description should accurately reflect session content and include all the elements listed below. Both the title and description will be published in the program and should stand-alone and clearly convey what the presentation will cover. Proposals should be educational and cannot be promotional or commercial in nature. The session title should be a maximum of 100 characters while the session description should be a maximum of 2,500 characters. Note that the RAIC may edit the length, clarity, or language in the proposal. The primary tour leader will be notified if edits are requested to a proposal.
 
Date and Time

Successful architectural tours will be scheduled May 12, May 13, or May 14. Tours will be held in two time slots within the Conference program: 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. and 2:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Due to the complexity of scheduling, the RAIC will have final decision on the date and time for each architectural tour. Details will be included in notification letters.  
 
Length

Tours are expected to be 1 to 2 hours in duration including the travel time to and from the Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre (the Conference venue).
 
Number of Participants

Tours must accommodate between 20-25 participants.  
 
Costs

Any costs that are associated with the tour must be clearly outlined in the proposal (e.g. entrance fees).  
 

Personal Protective Equipment (PPE)

Submissions will need to clearly indicate need for PPE (e.g. hard hats, construction boots or other equipment). 

 

Accessibility

The RAIC strives to provide safe, inclusive, and accessible events sothat everyone is able to participate. Submissions will need to clearly indicate accessibility features (e.g. barrier-free tour, stairs, etc.) Local tour proposals must confirm they are accessible so that everyone is able to participate.  

 

Number of tour leaders

Each proposal can have a maximum of two tour leaders. For submissions with more than one tour leader, the first tour leader will be identified as the contact. All communication will be sent to the first tour leader—and they will be responsible for communicating conference information with the other tour leader. Each tour leader will have the option to identify an email address they wish to copy on all correspondence. Tour leaders are welcome to submit more than one proposal.  

 

Tour leader biography

A short biography for each tour leader must be provided. Biographies should be a maximum of 2,500 characters, in narrative form and finalized as they will appear in the Conference program. The RAIC may edit for length, clarity, or language use.   

 

Tour leader headshot

Proposals must include a headshot for each speaker with the following specifications: 

  • Format: Either .png or .jpeg 
  • Size: 350px X 420px 
  • Black and white 
  • Rectangular with background space above and to the left and right of the subject (avoid extreme close-ups) 
  • File name: First Name_Last Name
 
Tour promotional image

Proposals must include a high-resolution photo for promotional use with the following specifications: 
  • Format: Either .png or .jpeg 
  • Full colour 
  • Size: at least 100px x 100pm, but no larger than 500px x 500px



Selection Process and Evaluation

The RAIC works diligently to ensure the highest-quality content and delivery of its continuing education programs, including those presented during the RAIC Conference. Conference proposals will be evaluated by the Conference Continuing Education Program Committee using a blind review process. Incomplete submissions will not be evaluated.

Submissions are evaluated on the following criteria: 

  • A clear and comprehensive tour description; 
  • The architectural tour is relevant to the profession of architecture; 
  • The architectural tour contributes new information or knowledge on the topic; 
  • Fit within the overarching programming; 
 
The CCEPC reserves the right to make the final decision for selection for the Conference 2022 program. All submissions are reviewed collectively to realize the best overall program for the Conference. Although an individual submission may meet all criteria, it may not be accepted. All applicants will be notified as to the status of the submission (acceptance or non-acceptance) according to the posted timeline.
 
Tour Leader Benefits

Travel and accommodation expenses (including a one-night complimentary stay at the Conference hotel) will be reimbursed according to RAIC policy. Details will be provided to accepted tour leaders in October 2021. These benefits apply to a maximum of two tour leaders per session. Leaders are also eligible for a complimentary Conference day pass for the day of their presentation or a 25% discount for an All Access Conference Pass. 
The RAIC does not provide financial compensation or honoraria to speakers. 
 
Consent

By submitting a proposal, tour leaders agree to present and participate in the RAIC 2022 Conference on Architecture. Participants also understand:   
  • No honorarium or professional fee is provided;
  • The RAIC will publish any presentation materials on the RAIC learning management system  a secure platform for registered attendees; 
  • They retain moral rights to be appropriately credited with authorship of the tour. 

     

More Information

For more information or if you require any assistance, contact conference@raic.org.  

 
Back